The Schermer Mills Foundation

The Schermer Molens Foundation was created on January 1, 2014 from the Museum Mill Foundation and the Schermer Molens Foundation. The aim of the new foundation is to preserve and where possible restore the valuable cultural heritage of the Schermer, including the Schermer Mill Complex, and to exploit the Museum Mill in Schermerhorn.

The Museum Mill Foundation was established in 1969 with the aim of exploiting the middle of the three polder mills near Schermerhorn as a museum. Over the past 45 years, more than one and a half million visitors have visited.

At the start of the Schermer Mills Foundation in 1964, twelve remaining watermills were transferred to the Foundation by the De Schermeer Water Board. The municipality of Oterleek later also brought in the flour mill De Otter. In the year 2000, the Foundation of the Province of North Holland acquired the three ironing mills near Rustenburg.

The foundation has been committed to preserving this Schermer Mill complex for more than 50 years. The Foundation is supported in this by the Cultural Heritage Agency (RCE), part of the Ministry of Culture. In 1990, this collaboration led to a recovery plan that aimed to restore the remainder of the Schermer Mill complex into a functioning drainage system.

In 2002, the province of Noord-Holland made an amount of 1,588,200 euros available from government funds for the restoration of the eleven watermills of the former water board De Schermer. The VSB Fund Foundation was found willing to pay the Foundation's own share in the restoration costs up to an amount of 680,600 euros. In 2008, this largest restoration project in history was successfully completed. All eleven mills are again capable of turning and grinding.

The Board and the Supervisory Board
The Schermer Molens Foundation has a board and a supervisory board.
The board consists of: Noor Ney (chairman), Sebastiaan Talsma (treasurer), Agnes de Boer (secretary), Ruud van Lier (marketing and PR), Joop Krul (museum windmill and residents' affairs) and Nadia Kreuger (education).

The Supervisory Board consists of Aldert Pilkes (chairman), Kim Hollenberg (legal advisor) and Simon Ruiter